Indian Premier League – IPL is a yearly Twenty-20 Cricket tournament in India. It was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in the year 2008. It is organized in India between the months of April and June.

A number of Indian clubs usually named after Indian cities participate in the tournament. With its unique format and team auctions, it is the most watched tournament in India. Now a days, summers are no less than a festive season for Indians. Started as a cricket tournament to nurture the budding talents of the country and for the good of cricket as a whole, IPL has now become a commercial hub with Bollywood celebrities and business tycoons showing their interest and participating at various levels.

IPL (Indian Premier League), now supervised by Ranjib Biswal – Vice President of BCCI is one of the most popular tournaments in the world. Lalit Modi, the then IPl Commissioner, is arguably considered to be the mastermind behind the format of IPL.

In the year 2010, IPL became the first sports event to be broadcasted live online on Youtube. Today, it is played between 8 enthusiastic teams who lock horns to grab the title and earn respect and money in the tournament. It was played among 8 teams in the beginning and then 3 new teams took part but their license was eventually cancelled due to various reasons. The prize money in IPL 7 held in 2014 was Rs. 14 Crores(US$2.2 million) and the amount invested in the tournament by various sponsors and franchises has been increasing ever since it started getting popular.

Some of the interesting rules of team composition in IPL are:

  • Squad of strength of 16+1 physiotherapist+1 coach is allowed.
  • No more than 9 foreign players are allowed in a team. The playing 11 should not contain more than 4 foreign players.
  • A minimum number of 14 Indian players should be included in each squad.
  • At least 6 players from BCCI under 22-pool should be included in each squad.

Let’s have a look at all the teams that have participated in various seasons of IPL:

Chennai Super Kings

Popularly known as CSK, it is the most successful team in IPL so far. As the name suggests, it is from Chennai, Tamil Nadu. Owner of the club is Varun Manian of India Cements. Headed by Captain cool Mahendra Singh Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming, CSK has won 2 titles in the year 2010 and 2011 respectively. It was the runners up team in the 1st, 5th and 6th edition of the tournament. Not very surprisingly, CSK has always made it to the play offs! M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai is the home ground of this team.

Official website:

Deccan Chargers

This is a defunct team that no longer exists. Led by Sri Lankan cricketer Kumar Sangakkara, it made a promising comeback in the 2nd edition of IPL by beating all teams to grab the title of IPL 2. After finishing 8th in the first season of IPL, it had surprised everyone in the next edition. With high hopes, a lot of sponsors poured in but it could only manage to bag 4th position in IPL 3. Then started the sad days and it finished 7th and 8th in the next two seasons. It was then replaced by Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013. Owned by Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited, it will always be remembered for having the legendary Australian cricketer Adam Gilchrist as the captain in its initial years. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad served as its home ground.

Official website:

Delhi Daredevils

The daredevils of IPL are from Delhi. Owned by Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao, the team is led by skipper JP Duminy from South Africa. Coached by veteran Gary Kirsten, the daredevils have been very irregular in all the seasons played so far. They were in the playoffs in the first 2 seasons and in the 5th season but have failed miserably in all other seasons. They finished last in the year 2011, 2013 and 2014 and are desperate to reclaim their lost confidence. Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi serves as their home ground.

Official website:

Kings XI Punjab

The supercharged team from Mohali is coached by Sanjay Bangar and Bollywood diva Preity Zinta(PZNZ Media), Ness Wadia(Bombay Dyeing) and Mohit Burman(Dabur) are the owners. Captain George Bailey from Asutralia has managed to bring the team back on tracks after its dismal performance in IPL so far. It got to the playoffs in the very first season but could never come back strong since then until last year when it finished runners-up in the points table. The PCA Stadium, Mohali, Punjab and HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh serves as its home grounds.

Official website:

Checkout the last part of article on “All about Indian Premier League – IPL