After the first part of All about Indian Premier League – IPL review of IPL teams, Here is the rest of the article. Lets start with the heart of IPL – Kolkata Knight Riders.

Kolkata Knight Riders

With the slogan Korbo Lodbo Jeetbo (Will do, fight and win) KKR, as they are popularly have seen all ups and downs of cricket in IPL. They had finished at the 6th, 8th and 6th position in the first 3 seasons but came back strong winning the title in 2012 and then repeating the history in the year 2014. Currently they are the defending champions of IPL 8. Captain Gautam Gambhir has done everything good to keep the team together. The owners of this are none other than the famous Bollywood names Shahrukh Khan(Red Chillies Entertainment) and the very charming actress Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta from Mehta Group. Coach Trevor Bayliss has done a commendable job in the team and is looking forward to win the IPL 8. The world renowned ground of Eden Gardens, Kolkata is the home ground for KKR.

Official website:

Kochi Tuskers Kerala

Another non-existing team that participated in only one season in the year 2011. It finished poorly at the 8th position. Mahela Jayawardene from Sri Lanka was the captain who could hardly do anything to get wins for his team. It was owned by Kochi Cricket Private Limited. Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi served as its home ground.

Mumbai Indians

This team has a very experienced and some of the best jewels of cricket as their mentors and coach. To name some, Sachin Tendulkar and Ricky Pointing are its mentor and coach. Skipper of the team is Rohit Sharma, the very talented Indian batsman. The owner of Mumbai Indians is Mukesh Ambani, the chief of Reliance Group. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai; Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai and DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai are its home grounds. The team has done fairly well in IPL so far winning the title in the year 2013 and has made it to the playoffs 4 times! It is known for keeping up the winning momentum at the second stage of the stadium.

Official website:

Pune Warriors India

Representing the city Pune, Maharashtra this club had very little time to show its best. It could participate in only 3 seasons from 2011-2013 where it performed very poor standing at the bottom 2 position all the time. It was owned by Sahara Adventure Sports India and led by Aaron Finch, who failed to get the best of his team. Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium remained its home ground while the club was active.

Rajasthan Royals

The blue team from the pink city of the country Jaipur, Rajasthan is the hub of budding talents in IPL. Rahul Dravid, ex-Captain now a mentor of the team, groomed the young players well and it was because of these young talents that it won the 1st season of IPL surprising everyone. Since then, it has not been a very memorable journey for them. They have made to the playoffs only once. The owners are Lachalan Murdoch(Emerging India) and the actress with the most beautiful smile Shilpa Shetty and her husband Raj Kundra(UK Trade Corp Ltd). The team is now led by Australian Steve Smith and coached by Paddy Upton. Home grounds for the Royals are Swai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur (Rajasthan) and Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad (Gujarat).

Official website:

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Led by the most talented and stunning cricketer Virat Kohli the Challengers have done fair in the 7 seasons played so far. They are cleared to the playoffs 3 out of 7 times and have been the runner ups twice! It is owned by Vijay Mallya (UB Group) and is coached by the New Zealander Daniel Vettori. Bengaluru’s M. Chinnaswami Stadium is its home ground. With batsmen like Chris Gayle and AB De Villiers th team can shatter any bowling attack and is a tough competition in the ongoing season.

Official website:

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The club made their debut in the year 2013 replacing erstwhile Deccan Chargers. IT is captained by David Warner and coached by Tom Moody. Kalanidhi Maran of the Sun Networks is the owner of SRH club. It has played only 2 seasons so far and has stood 4th and 6th in the last 2 seasons of IPL. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad nad Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium Vishakhapatnam are its home grounds.

Official website:


Total 8 seasons of IPL have successfully completed! Let’s get a quick review of what happened in the previous seasons:

IPL Season 1, 2008: Rajasthan Royals won the 1st title of IPL against Chennai Super Kings. Kings XI Punjab abd Delhi Daredevils were the other 2 teams in the playoffs. Shane Watson, Rajasthan Royals was declared the Man of the Series. Most runs were scored by Shaun Marsh, Punjab and Sohail Tanvir, Rajasthan took the maximum number of wickets.

IPL Season 2, 2009: Played in South Africa due to upcoming elections in India it was won by the Deccan Chargers. Adam Gilchrist won the Man of the Series title. Mathew Hayden, Chennai scored most runs and RP Singh, Deccan took maximum number of wickets. Royal Challengers Bangalore were the runner-up and Delhi and Chennai made it to the top 4.

IPL Season 3, 2010: Chennai Super Kings finally won the title after making it to the top 4 in the previous seasons beating Mumbai Indians. Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers were the top 4 teams. Sachin Tendulkar became the Man of the Series and scored the maximum number of runs. Pragyan Ojha, Deccan took most number of wickets.

IPL Season 4, 2011: Chennai Super Kings repeated history winning the title twice that too in a row! Chennai defeated Bangalore while Mumbai and Kolkata were the other teams in the playoffs. Chris Gayle showed off his talent scoring the most number of runs and got the title of Man of the Series for his outstanding performance. Lasith Malinga, Mumbai Indians became the most wicket taker of IPL 4.

IPL Season 5, 2012: For the first time, Kolkata Knight Riders lifted the trophy beating Chennai in the finals. Delhi and Mumbai played great cricket making it to the top 4. Morne Morkel took maximum wickets while mystery bowler, Sunil Narine became the Man of the Series. Chris Gayle continued his show and became the most run scorer again.

IPL Season 6, 2013: Mumbai Indians won the title for the first time. Sachin Tendulkar retired from T20 format too. Beating Chennai in the finals, Mumbai gave a good farewell to the living legend. Royals and first timer Sunrisers Hyderbad made it to playoffs. Shane Watson as declared the Man of the Series, while Michael hussy and Dwayne Bravo were the highest run scorers and wicket takers respectively.

IPL Season 7, 2014: Following the steps of Chennai, Kolkata Knight Riders won the title for the 2nd time beating Kings XI Punjab! Chennai kept their good work and reached the top 4 of the table along with Mumbai Indians. The tournament was held in UAE and India. Glen Maxwell, Punjab was the Man of the Series while Robin Uthappa scored most number of runs. Mohit Sharma took maximum number of wickets.

IPL Season 8, 2015: The tournament featured eight teams and was held from 8 April 2015 to 24 May 2015. The tournament’s opening ceremony was held at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on 7 April 2015. Kolkata Knight Riders were the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the Final at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata on 24 May 2015 to win the IPL title for the second time. Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma was awarded player of the match in the final for his knock of 50 from 26 balls. Andre Russell of the Knight Riders was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the season.